Home‎ > ‎Updates‎ > ‎

Building Committee Membership Finalized

posted Mar 18, 2015, 6:04 AM by Ryan Palmer
The Building Committee membership has been finalized and when the selection of an architect is finalized, they will begin the design process.  Emily Robbins, 8th Grader at Mt. Ararat Middle School, will be the student representative on the Building Committee.  Michael Chonko (Topsham resident, parent, MTA graduate from Harpswell, and mechanical engineer) and John Hodge (Topsham resident, parent, Executive Director of the Brunswick and Topsham Housing Authorities, skilled facilitator) will represent parents and community members. Krista Chase and Matthew Cook will represent the faculty.  Members previously confirmed by the School Board include: Brad Smith (Superintendent), Chris Shaw (Facilities Director), Steve Dyer (Business Manager), Dave Johnson (Board Member), Kim Totten (Board Member), Scott McKernan (Board Member), Julie Booty (Board Member), and Donna Brunette (H.S. Principal).  

Educational Specifications will be the focus of the Building Committees work with the architect.  The process for gathering input and writing the education specs will be developed through our committee work.  Please know that the process will include opportunity for community input so please look for information about meetings in the near future and bring your voice.  The goal as we plan for the construction project is to have a high school that reflects the vision of our MTA community.